Site Updates

Subscribe to RSS Feed Subscribe to RSS feed

Diving in Malaysia > Peninsular Malaysia

Peninsular Malaysia is located between Thailand and Singapore, and provides access to dive destinations on both the east and west coasts.

Areas to dive in Peninsular Malaysia


Penang is one of Malaysia's main tourist draws, although for scuba diving there are better options as the waters can be a bit murky.

Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur, or KL, is the capital of Malaysia. With the world's cheapest five-star hotels, great shopping and even better food, increasing numbers of travellers are discovering this little gem of a city.


Selangor is the wealthiest, most urbanized and, with 4.1 million people, the most populous of Malaysia's states, surrounding but not including the capital Kuala Lumpur and the capital-to-be Putrajaya.


Terengganu is a state on the eastern coast of Peninsular Malaysia in Malaysia. The primary attractions of the state are the beautiful tropical Perhentian and Redang Islands which provide excellent diving opportunities.


Langkawi is an archipelago of 99 islands in the Andaman Sea, 30km off the mainland coast of northwestern Peninsular Malaysia, and is part of the Pulau Payar Marine Park. Scuba diving is offered by the tour operators to Pulau Payar.

Tioman Island (Pulau Tioman)

Scuba facilities are readily available, and the diving is reasonably good, especially in view of the proximity to Singapore. Popular dive sites are: Paya: A group of rocks adjacent from the beach offers a variety of colourful coral and fish.

Johor Bahru

Johor Bahru (JB for short) is the state capital of Johor in southern peninsular Malaysia, just across the causeway from Singapore.

Dive Operators in Peninsular Malaysia